Bob Dylan – Don’t Think Twice It’s Alright – Tab

I wanted the first post on this blog to be one of the first songs that really pulled me towards the ukulele. I’m not a huge Dylan guy but, as a good uke song can do, I was won over by this version. It’s fairly easy to play and sing and the bare bones uke version shows how songs don’t have to be complex to be brilliant. I love how the chord progression sounds and the overlapping turnaround between verses. Poetic lyrics don’t hurt either (I’ve always seen Dylan’s genius in that department).

When I pick up my uke and start playing without thinking about it… this is the song that comes out of my fingers.

The version I first fell in love with was Molly Lewis’. She’s great. I love her fast, bouncy, happy (almost bluegrass maybe) version. It’s got some extra juice, transition chords and a cool strum, that I don’t really play so they aren’t in the tab. I should probably figure them out.

I use my go to strum which is D D – UDU. Emphasis on down strum number 2, the first strum in the cycle comes fast after the last, and I’m not to rigid about not missing some of the unplayed ups or downs at the right times. It kind of adds some feel to it.

Here’s my tab. Either version of D7 sounds good in both locations. I usually play the bar chord unless my carpel tunnel is acting up.

Bob Dylan – Don’t Think Twice It’s Alright – Tab PDF

I’ll try and get a video up here soon.

Buy Bob Dylan – Don’t Think Twice It’s Alright on Amazon

Find out about, go see, and support Molly Lewis on Molly Lewis’ site

Leave a Reply

